🍵 7 Metrics Every Customer Success Manager Should Know
Metrics are fundamental to tracking your customers’ success.
But as the management expert Peter Drucker once said, you can’t manage what you can’t measure, right?
Today, there are thousands of CS teams out there focusing on the wrong and outdated KPIs.
And measuring things that don’t matter is a waste of time, energy, and resources.
So here are the 7 core metrics every CSM should know by heart:
1/ NRR: Net Revenue Retention
Calculates the percentage of recurring revenue from your existing customers over time.
It gives you a great picture of growth and revenue flow based on your MRR (monthly recurring revenue):
Starting MRR = $50k
Expansion MRR = $10k
Churned MRR = $5k
=> NRR = (50 + 10 - 5)/50 = 110% => growth
⚡If NRR < 100% => danger! you lose more than you grow.
2/ GRR: Gross Revenue Retention
Also called Gross Renewal Rate.
It’s like NRR, but with a major difference: it does not include expansion revenue.
The highest possible value for GRR is 100% and measures revenue stability.
⚡Across all SaaS companies, the median GRR is around 90%.
⚡GRR < 80% => danger!
3/ ARR: Annual Recurring Revenue
The amount of money your company gets from its customers every year from:
A: subscription cost for one year
B: recurring revenue from add-ons or upgrades
C: churn, revenue lost from cancellations
ARR = [A + B] - C
3-year subscription for $3M
B = $300k
C = $100k
=> ARR = [$1M + $300k] - $100k = $1,2M
⚡ARR = 12 x MRR
4/ CES: Customer Effort Score
Measures what it takes to perform a given action with your products or services.
To find this out, survey your customers by asking the following two questions, on a scale of 1-10:
How easy was it to solve your problem?
How much effort did it require?
CES = Sum of all scores / total number of responses
⚡the more response you get, the better.
5/ LTV (or CLV): Customer Lifetime Value
A key indicator showing how much money a customer brings into your company over the lifespan.
LTV = [Customer $$] x [average customer lifespan]
ARR = $300k with an average customer lifespan of 2 years
=> LTV = $600k
6/ CRR: Customer Retention Rate
Gives you the percentage of customers you keep compared to those you lose over a given period of time.
100 customers at the start of the period.
110 customers at the end
20 new customers
=> CRR = 110-20 / 100 = 90% (you lost 10 customers between)
7/ CAC: Customer Acquisition Cost
Tells you how much money you spend in total including marketing and sales activities to acquire one customer.
Total acquisition $$ = $100k in Sales commissions + $50k marketing spend
New customers = 100
=> CAC = 150.000 / 100 = $1500
And that’s it.
Focus on these core metrics so you can explore others I’ve described in a previous edition here:
Here are 5 other ways I can help you:
Tune in to my CS Café Podcast, where I interview the most influential experts in the industry each month.
Looking for a job in Customer Success?
I run TopCSjobs.com, the no:1 job board exclusive to CS.
Check it out and find your next job in CS today.
Transitioning into CS or willing to set the foundations solid?
Check out the book I wrote: How To Become A Customer Success Manager. Recommended by Custify as “The 19 Essential Customer Success Books For The Modern CSM”.
I just launched a new course on secrets to writing and sending cold emails that get opened with 90+ templates. Download it here.
If you like listening to motivational speeches for success, check out my Success Pod for daily inspiration from the brightest minds who have ever lived (110,000+ streams, 450+ daily listeners in 2022).
Promote yourself to the growing tribe of 1670+ highly successful people by sponsoring this newsletter (Booking out 1 month)